APRIL 25, 2022

South Dakota Democratic Party Celebrates McGovern Day 2022

SIOUX FALLS – On Friday, April 22, the South Dakota Democratic Party held its 2022 McGovern Day celebration in Sioux Falls. The annual event brought Democrats from across South Dakota together for a night of awards, speeches, and community.

Three awards are given each year at the South Dakota Democratic Party’s annual McGovern Day to recognize exemplary activists within the State Party. 

The George McGovern Grassroots Award is given to someone who has contributed substantially to the improvement of the South Dakota Democratic Party. This person is a statewide leader in Democratic affairs who has contributed to registering voters and getting out the vote. The 2022 recipient of the George McGovern Grassroots award is Kellen Returns From Scout. 

The Goldie Wells Award is a lifetime achievement award for a committed individual who has given many years of service to the South Dakota Democratic Party. This person has set an excellent example of tireless work and dedication to the ideals of the Democratic Party in various capacities. The 2022 recipient of the Goldie Wells Award is Sharon Stroschein. 

The Richard F. Kneip award recognizes an outstanding up-and-coming member of the South Dakota Democratic Party who is under the age of 30. This person is active in the Party, demonstrates exemplary leadership within the Party, and is dedicated to improving both local and state Democratic Party organizations. The 2022 recipient of the Richard F. Kneip Award is Shane Merrill. 

The South Dakota Democratic Party congratulates this year’s award winners and is incredibly thankful for their dedication to the Party. 

The headline speakers for this year’s McGovern Day were gubernatorial candidate Rep. Jamie Smith Governor, US Senate candidate Brian Bengs, Rep. Peri Pourier, and Rep. Ryan Cwach. Second Gentleman Doug Emhoff provided a video message for the attendees.