The State Central Committee is the main governing body of the South Dakota Democratic Party. It is composed of all elected State Party Officers, Executive Board members, county chairs and vice chairs, two county committeepersons, and legislative district chairs and vice chairs. The State Central Committee meets a minimum of four times per calendar year to conduct SDDP business.

Executive Board

The SDDP Executive Board works directly with the state party chair and party staff to review and recommend policy and procedures to the body of the State Central Committee. The executive board consists of the SDDP Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer, along with two National Committeepersons, Young Democrats president, College Democrats president, Democratic legislative leaders, fourteen regional representatives and the Chair of the Oceti Sakowin Caucus.

Regional representatives are elected to two-year terms in regional caucuses at the State Central Committee meeting following county party elections in odd-numbered years.

Region 1

Districts 1, 3, 20, 22, 23

Steven McCleerey

Peggy Gibson

Region 2

Districts 4, 5, 7, 8, 25

Mary Perpich

Scott Parsley

Region 3

Districts 9, 10, 11, 14, 15

Sharon Schulz-Elsing

Julian Beaudion

Region 4

Districts 2, 6, 12, 13, 16

Araylla Hennigar

Erik Hanson

Region 5

Districts 17, 18, 19, 21, 26A, 26B

Frank Kloucek

Region 6

Districts 24, 28A, 28B, 29, 30, 31

Amanda Bachmann

Wayne Ducheneaux

Region 7

Districts 27, 32, 33, 34, 35

Sandra White Shield

Jay Davis

Reynold Nesiba
Reynold NesibaState Senate Minority Leader
Oren Lesmeister
Oren LesmeisterState House Minority Leader
Kellen Returns F.S.
Kellen Returns F.S.Očeti Šakówin Caucus Chair
Young Dems Chair
Berk Ehrmantraut
Michael GrismerHigh School Dems Chair
The South Dakota Democratic Party

Get Updates

  • By providing your phone number, you agree to receive text messages from the South Dakota Dems Message & data rates may apply. Message frequency varies. Reply STOP to opt-out, reply HELP for help