JUNE 16, 2022

South Dakota Democratic Party Announces Standing Committee Members

Sioux Falls- The South Dakota Democratic Party announced members of five Standing Committees ahead of their 2022 State Convention in Fort Pierre on July 8th and 9th.

Credentials Committee members: Travis Wicks (Chair), Jessica Meyers, Aaron Matson, Keryn Rowland, Kathy Tyler, Ritchie Nordstrom.

Rules Committee members: Shane Milne (Chair), Cully Williams, Joseph Zweifel, Kellen Returns From Scout, Linda Roth, John Cunningham, Carl Petersen.

Order of Business and Permanent Organization Committee members: Larry Olsen (Chair), Jennifer Slaight-Hansen, Chad Skiles, Eileen Briggs, Pat Fastnacht.

Platform Committee members: Julian Beaudion and Peri Pourier (co-chairs). Convention delegates will be assigned as voting members of platform subcommittees. 

Resolutions Committee members: Erik Muckey (Chair), Karla LaRive, Frank Kloucek, Ryne Andal, Jean Riedy, Jay Davis. 

On Friday, July 8th, Platform Subcommittees will meet to adopt the South Dakota Democratic Party platform. Interested parties are welcome to attend. 

The schedule for the Platform Subcommittees is as follows:

1:00 PM, Drifter’s Bar & Grille
Agriculture and Rural Life
Economic Development & Tourism

1:00 PM, AmericInn
Health Care (Walden Room)
Human Rights (Scotty Room)
Labor & Employment (Leighton Room)

3:00 PM, Drifter’s Bar and Grille
Natural Resources & Environment
Senior Issues
State & Local Government

3:00 PM, AmericInn
Tribal & Native American (Walden Room)
Veterans Issues (Scotty Room)
Women’s Issues (Leighton Room)

Drifter’s Bar and Grille: 325 Hustan Ave, Fort Pierre, SD
AmericInn: 312 Island Dr, Fort Pierre, SD

Members of the press are welcome to attend the 2022 State Convention. We ask that they fill out a media credential form prior to the event. That form can be found here.

During the convention, the South Dakota Democratic Party will hold a Democrats Care event with Feeding South Dakota. The volunteer project will take place on Friday, July 8th. Volunteers should register their interest by filling out this form