Sharon Stroschein

The Goldie Wells Award

This award is a lifetime achievement award for a committed individual who has given many years of service to the South Dakota Democratic Party. This person has set an excellent example of tireless work and dedication to the ideals of the Democratic Party in various capacities.

The 2022e recipient of the Goldie Wells Award is Roberta Rasmussen.

2023 – Roberta Rasmussen, Viborg
2022 – Sharon Stroschein, Mansfield
2021 – Sen. Tim Johnson, Sioux Falls
2020 – Jeff Wilka, Sioux Falls
2019 – Ann Tornberg, Beresford
2018 – Tom Katus, Rapid City
2017 – Catherine Ratliff, Hot Springs
2015 – Judy Duhamel, Rapid City

The Richard F. Kneip Award

This award recognizes an outstanding up-and-coming member of the South Dakota Democratic Party who is under the age of 30. This person is active in the Party, demonstrates exemplary leadership within the Party, and is dedicated to improving both local and state Democratic Party organizations.

The 2023 recipient of the Richard F. Kneip Award is Henry Van Bemmel.

2023 – Henry Van Bemmel, Sioux Falls
2022 – Shane Merrill, Parker
2021 – Thomas Elness, Sioux Falls
2020 – Nicholas French, Brookings
2019 – Oliver Miner, Eagle Butte
2018 – Alli Moran, Eagle Butte
2017 – Clay Hoffman, Winner
2016 – Rachelle Norberg, Burke
2015 – Olivia Siglin, Webster
2014 – Ryan Cwach, Yankton

Shane Merrill

Kellen Returns From Scout

The George McGovern Grassroots Award

This award is given to someone who has contributed substantially to the improvement of the South Dakota Democratic Party. This person is a statewide leader in Democratic affairs who has contributed to registering voters and getting out the vote.

The 2023 recipient of the George McGovern Grassroots award is Ryan Cwach.

2023 – Ryan Cwach, Yankton
2022 – Kellen Returns From Scout, Rapid City
2021 – Lawrence Novotny, Brookings
2020 – Jeri Reed, Sioux Falls
2019 – Amanda Thronson, Pierre
2018 – Jeremiah “Jay” Davis, Rapid City
2017 – Peggy Gibson, Huron
2015 – Mary Perpich, Brookings
2014 – Pamela Merchant (Cole), Brookings
2011 – Burt Elliot, Aberdeen