SDDP Recognizes Van Bemmel, Cwach and Rasmussen with McGovern Awards

Sioux Falls, SD (June 03, 2023) – The South Dakota Democratic Party recognized three of its best and brightest this weekend at the McGovern Day Luncheon.

Henry Van Bemmel received the Richard F. Kneip Award. This award recognizes an outstanding up-and-coming member of our Party under the age of 30. The nominee must be active in the Democratic Party, demonstrate exemplary leadership within the Party, and be dedicated to improving both local and state Democratic Party organizations. Henry has been an active volunteer on several legislative campaigns as well as an organizer and leader within the Augie Democrats. “The Augie Dems, the Minnehaha County Dems, and our SDDP are all better because of Henry Van Bemmel’s active participation and leadership.” -Reynold Nesiba Minority Leader SD State Senate

Ryan Cwach received the McGovern Grassroots Award. This individual must have contributed substantially to the improvement of the South Dakota Democratic Party, must currently be recognized as a state-wide leader in Democratic affairs and must have contributed to registering voters and/or getting out the vote. Ryan’s work as a state representative has gained him respect with leaders on both sides of the aisle and across this state. His work with the Bluestem PAC to engage voters and improve voter turnout helped elect new leaders to our state legislature. “Ryan doesn’t shy away from hard work and leads by example. He shared his strategies and helped many with messaging, money, and advice. He always had time to help.”   -Linda Duba SD State Representative

Roberta Rasmussen received the Goldie Wells Lifetime Achievement Award. This person must have given many years of service and set an excellent example of tireless work and dedication to the ideals of the Democratic Party. Roberta served six years in the SD State Senate and was Chair of the Ag Committee. “Roberta is a trailblazer and has been as active as any Democrat I have met in the party. She is an amazing leader and I am privileged to call her a friend and fellow Democrat.” -Shane Merrill Vice Chair of SDDP

“Each year at McGovern Day, we recognize three of our most dedicated leaders and volunteers within the Party. We are fortunate to have so many great nominees for this year’s awards. Our McGovern Day Award winners demonstrate the dedication and commitment necessary to have a positive impact on the Democratic Party and their communities.” – Dan Ahlers Executive Director SDDP

For questions, please call or email: Dan Ahlers, Executive Director, SDDP

(605) 271-5405 or dan@sddp.org