Party Officers

//Party Officers
Party Officers2018-10-18T18:42:05+00:00
Ann Tornberg
Ann TornbergChair
Ann and her husband Mike live on their third generation South Dakota dairy farm just south of Beresford. They have been married for close to 40 years; have two grown daughters (a teacher and a doctor) and five grandchildren. Both of their son-in-laws are also engaged in farming. Ann has been a candidate for the SD legislature, chair of the Union County Democrats, a member of the Executive Board of the SDDP, and worked in Pierre on each day of the past three Legislative Sessions. She was one of the key organizers of YELL (Young Elected Legislative Leader). Ann was elected in December of 2014 and started her 4 year term as State Party Chair on Jan. 1 of 2015.
Joe Lowe
Joe LoweVice-Chair
Joe was born and raised in Joplin, Missouri. Joe earned a baccalaureate in public administration. Joe was formerly the national Incident Commander for one of the 33 Type 2 teams that responds to events of national significance. Joe has managed many of the large fires in our state, as well as the Southeast Operational Region of the Missouri River Flooding. Joe also served as mayor of Mission Viejo California before moving to Piedmont to run his own small business in Rapid City with his wife Wendy.
Bill Nibbelink
Bill NibbelinkTreasurer
Bill has served as Treasurer of the SDDP for several years. He and his wife, Angie, live in Flandreau. Nibbelink is a property management consultant specializing in assisting Native American tribes provide decent and affordable housing to their members. He serves on the Boards of several organizations including the Interlakes Community Action Partnership and Dakota Rural Action. Nibbelink has been active in the Moody County Democrats for over 30 years and is currently serving as the Treasurer.
Lorri May
Lorri MaySecretary
Lorri May has been involved in the Democratic Party for 33 years. She is presently the Secretary of the State Party and the Lake County Chairperson. She’s worked for the party in Get Out the Vote, walking petitions, as VoteBuilder Administrator, and working with candidates statewide. She hails from Stickney, SD, in Aurora County, where her mother was Aurora County Auditor. She believes in progressive politics and works in Lake County, District 8, and around the state to help that happen.